| (AIX)    KZT 18835   %   0.88 USD 37.3   %   -2.38

Kazatomprom is participating in the IAEA General Conference

25 September 2023
Kazatomprom is participating in the IAEA General Conference

The opening of the 67th session of the General Conference of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) took place on 25 September in Vienna (Austria), which annually brings together representatives of 177 IAEA member states to discuss current issues in the nuclear industry. The Minister of Energy of the Republic of Kazakhstan Almassadam Satkaliyev, CEO of Sovereign Wealth Fund Samruk-Kazyna JSC Nurlan Zhakupov, CEO of NAC Kazatomprom JSC Yerzhan Mukanov, representatives of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Kazakhstan, RSE National Nuclear Center of the Republic of Kazakhstan, RSE Institute of Nuclear Physics of the RoK Ministry of Energy and Mangistau Nuclear Energy Plant LLP are taking part in the Conference on behalf of Kazakhstan.

The conference includes thematic sessions, bilateral meetings, a scientific forum and an exhibition at which Kazakhstan’s pavilion is presented.

On the first day of the Conference, a side event was held dedicated to the IAEA Low-Enriched Uranium Bank (“IAEA LEU Bank”), which is located on the territory of Ulba Metallurgical Plant JSC (a subsidiary of Kazatomprom). The LEU Bank entered operational stage in 2019 with the aim of providing IAEA member states that do not have uranium enrichment technologies with a guaranteed supply of raw materials for the production of nuclear fuel.

“The Bank is one of the existing assurances of nuclear fuel supply, but it differs from the others by the fact that it is owned and controlled by the IAEA; hence it meets all applicable provisions of the IAEA safety standards. I would like to acknowledge the tremendous work achieved by the IAEA Secretariat, Kazakhstan, Ulba Metallurgical Plant and other interested parties”, said Mikhail Chudakov, IAEA Deputy Director General.

The Minister of Energy of the Republic of Kazakhstan Almassadam Satkaliyev emphasized that Kazakhstan continues to consistently advocate for strengthening global nuclear security:

“Since the declaration of its independence, Kazakhstan has demonstrated peaceful direction of its international course, which determines its guidelines and reflects its commitment to modern international legal principles. The placement of the IAEA LEU Bank in the territory of the Ulba Metallurgical Plant means recognition of the highest level of safety that meets the most stringent international standards, as well as the availability of appropriate qualifications and experience of the plant’s personnel”.

In total, the LEU Bank contains about 90 tons of low-enriched uranium, which does not exceed 10 percent of the amount of uranium that was previously stored at UMP as its own production reserves.

“Kazakhstan stands at the forefront of global uranium extraction, accounting for over 40% of the world's production. We are dedicated in our commitment to advancing the peaceful use of nuclear energy under the guidance of the IAEA, and we wholeheartedly support international efforts aimed at ensuring global stability”, said Nurlan Zhakupov, CEO of Samruk-Kazyna JSC.

In 2023, the first stage of re-certification of the cylinders stored at the LEU Bank was implemented, which was carried out on filled cylinders for the first time in the world. Stage II of recertification of the remaining cylinders is planned to be carried out in 2024.

“The creation of fuel banks will not disrupt the market mechanisms of the nuclear industry and will become an acceptable alternative to the proliferation of sensitive technologies. The IAEA's LEU reserves will contribute to the development of nuclear energy for peaceful purposes and ensuring access of states to peaceful nuclear technologies. In addition, the creation of LEU Bank will not infringe on the rights of IAEA member states to create their own production capabilities within the nuclear fuel cycle. We believe that this multilateral mechanism should not be politicized nor be discriminatory, but should be accessible to all states that comply with guarantee agreements”, noted Yerzhan Mukanov, CEO of Kazatomprom.

The 67th session of the IAEA General Conference will last from 25 to 29 September. Based on the results of the Conference, a number of important decisions will be made in the development of the global nuclear industry.

Kazatomprom Public Relations and Media Inquiries

For PR and media inquiries and media inquiries

Sabina Kumurbekova, PR Director
Gazhaiyp Kumisbek, PR Chief Expert

Tel: +7 (7172) 45 80 63

Email: pr@kazatomprom.kz

Kazatomprom Investor Relations Inquiries

Botagoz Muldagaliyeva, IR Director

Tel: +7 7172 45 81 80 / 69

Email: ir@kazatomprom.kz

About Kazatomprom

Kazatomprom is the largest uranium producer in the world with natural uranium production in proportion to the Company's participatory interest in the amount of about 22% of the total global primary uranium production in 2022. The group has the largest uranium reserve base in the industry. Kazatomprom, together with subsidiaries, affiliates and joint organizations, is developing 26 deposits combined into 14 uranium mining enterprises. All uranium mining enterprises are located on the territory of the Republic of Kazakhstan and when mine uranium use in-situ recovery technology, paying particular attention to best HSE practices and means (ISO 45001 and ISO 14001 certified).

Kazatomprom's securities are listed on the London Stock Exchange, the Astana International Exchange and the Kazakhstan Stock Exchange. Kazatomprom is the National Atomic Company of the Republic of Kazakhstan, and the main customers of the group are operators of nuclear generating capacities, and the main export markets for products are China, South and East Asia, North America and Europe. The Group sells uranium and uranium products under long-term and short-term contracts, as well as on the spot market directly from its corporate centre in Astana, Kazakhstan, as well as through a trading subsidiary in Switzerland, Trading House KazakAtom (THK).

For more information, please, visit our website www.kazatomprom.kz.

Statements for the Future

All statements, other than statements of historical fact, included in this message or document are statements regarding the future. Statements regarding the future reflect the Company's current expectations and estimates regarding its financial condition, results of operations, plans, goals, future results and activities. Such statements may include, but are not limited to, statements before which, after which or where words such as “goal”, “believe”, “expect”, “intend”, “possibly”, “anticipate”, “evaluate”, “plan”,“project”,“will”,“may”,“probably”, “should”,“may” and other words and terms of a similar meaning or their negative forms are used.

Such statements regarding the future include known and unknown risks, uncertainties and other important factors beyond the control of the Company, which may lead to the fact that the actual results, indicators or achievements of the Company will significantly differ from the expected results, indicators or achievements expressed or implied by such statements regarding the future. Such statements regarding the future are based on numerous assumptions regarding the current and future business strategy of the Company and the conditions in which it will operate in the future.

INFORMATION ON THE ESTIMATES CONTAINED IN THIS DOCUMENT ARE BASED ON SEVERAL ASSUMPTIONS ABOUT FUTURE EVENTS AND ARE SUBJECT TO SIGNIFICANT ECONOMIC AND COMPETITIVE UNCERTAINTIES AND OTHER CONVENTIONALITIES, NONE OF WHICH CAN NOT BE PREDICTED WITH CERTAINTY AND SOME OF WHICH ARE OUTSIDE OF THE COMPANY'S CONTROL. THERE CAN'T BE ANY WARRANTY THAT THE ESTIMATES WILL BE REALIZED AND THE ACTUAL RESULTS MAY BE ABOVE OR BELOW THAN SPECIFIED. NONE OF THE COMPANY - NO SHAREHOLDERS, NO DIRECTORS, NO OFFICERS, NO EMPLOYEES, NO CONSULTANTS, NO AFFILIATES NOR ANY REPRESENTATIVES OR AFFILIATES LISTED ABOVE BEAR RESPONSIBILITY FOR THE ACCURACY OF THE ESTIMATES PRESENTED IN THIS DOCUMENT.

The information contained in this message or document, including, but not limited to, statements regarding the future, is applicable only as of the date of this document and is not intended to provide any guarantees regarding future results The Company expressly disclaims any obligation to disseminate updates or changes to such information, including financial data or forward-looking statements, and will not publicly release any changes that it may make to information arising from changes in the Company's expectations, changes in events, conditions or circumstances on which such statements regarding the future are based, or in other events or circumstances arising after the date of this document.

Leave feedback

| (AIX)    KZT 18835   %   0.88 USD 37.3   %   -2.38

Казатомпром принимает участие в Генеральной конференции МАГАТЭ

25 сентября 2023
Казатомпром принимает участие в Генеральной конференции МАГАТЭ

25 сентября в г. Вене (Австрия) состоялось открытие 67-й сессии Генеральной конференции Международного агентства по атомной энергии (МАГАТЭ), которая ежегодно собирает представителей 177 стран – участников МАГАТЭ для обсуждения актуальных вопросов ядерной отрасли. От Казахстана в работе конференции принимают участие Министр энергетики РК Алмасадам Саткалиев, председатель правления АО «ФНБ «Самрук-Қазына» Нурлан Жакупов, председатель правления АО «НАК «Казатомпром» Ержан Муканов, представители Министерства иностранных дел РК, РГП «Национальный ядерный центр РК», РГП «Институт ядерной физики Министерства энергетики РК» и ТОО «Мангистауский атомный энергетический комбинат».

В рамках конференции проходят тематические сессии, двусторонние встречи, научный форум и выставка, на которой представлен павильон Казахстана.

В первый день конференции состоялся сайд-ивент, посвященный Банку низкообогащенного урана МАГАТЭ (Банк НОУ МАГАТЭ), который расположен на территории АО «Ульбинский металлургический завод» (дочернее предприятие Казатомпрома). Банк НОУ начал осуществлять свои функции  в 2019 году с целью обеспечения государств - членов МАГАТЭ, не обладающих технологиями обогащения урана, гарантированным запасом сырья для производства ядерного топлива.

«Банк является одной из существующих гарантий поставок ядерного топлива, но он отличается от других тем, что принадлежит и контролируется МАГАТЭ, а значит, отвечает всем применимым положениям стандартов безопасности Агентства. Я хотел бы отметить огромную работу, проделанную Секретариатом МАГАТЭ, Казахстаном, Ульбинским металлургическим заводом и другими заинтересованными сторонами», - сказал заместитель генерального директора МАГАТЭ Михаил Чудаков.

Министр энергетики РК Алмасадам Саткалиев подчеркнул, что Казахстан продолжает последовательно выступать за укрепление глобальной ядерной безопасности:

«С момента провозглашения независимости Казахстан демонстрирует миролюбивую направленность своего международного курса, что определяет ее ориентиры и отражает приверженность современным международно-правовым принципам. Размещение Банка НОУ МАГАТЭ на территории Ульбинского металлургического завода означает признание высочайшего уровня безопасности, соответствующего самым строгим международным стандартам, а также наличие надлежащей квалификации и опыта персонала предприятия».

Всего в Банке НОУ находится порядка 90 тонн низкобогащенного урана, что не превышает 10 процентов от количества урана, которое ранее хранилось на УМЗ в качестве собственных производственных запасов.

«Казахстан является мировым лидером по добыче урана, на долю которого приходится более 40% мирового производства. Мы привержены идее развития мирного использования атомной энергетики под руководством МАГАТЭ и искренне поддерживаем международные усилия, направленные на обеспечение глобальной стабильности», - отметил председатель правления АО «Самрук-Қазына» Нурлан Жакупов.

В 2023 году состоялся I этап повторной сертификации хранящихся в Банке НОУ цилиндров, которая впервые в мировой практике проводилась на заполненных цилиндрах. II этап ресертификации оставшихся цилиндров планируется провести в 2024 году.

«Создание топливных банков не будет нарушать рыночных механизмов функционирования ядерной отрасли и станет приемлемой альтернативой распространению чувствительных технологий. Резервы НОУ МАГАТЭ будут способствовать развитию атомной энергии в мирных целях и обеспечению доступа государств к мирным ядерным технологиям. Кроме того, создание БНОУ не будет ущемлять права государств-членов МАГАТЭ создавать собственный производственный потенциал в рамках ядерного топливного цикла. Мы полагаем, что этот многосторонний механизм не должен быть политизирован и иметь дискриминационный характер, а должен быть доступен для всех государств, соблюдающих соглашения о гарантиях», - отметил председатель правления Казатомпрома Ержан Муканов.

67-я сессия Генеральной конференции МАГАТЭ продлится с 25 по 29 сентября. По результатам конференции будет принят ряд важных решений в области развития мировой атомной отрасли.

Для получения более подробной информации вы можете связаться:

По вопросам по связям с общественностью и запросам СМИ

Сабина Кумурбекова, директор департамента PR
Гажаиып Кумисбек, главный эксперт департамента PR

Тел: +7 (7172) 45 80 63

Email: pr@kazatomprom.kz

По вопросам, связанным с взаимодействием с инвесторами

Ботагоз Мулдагалиева, директор департамента IR

Тел: +7 7172 45 81 80 / 69

Email: ir@kazatomprom.kz

О Казатомпроме

Казатомпром является крупнейшим в мире производителем урана с добычей природного урана, пропорционально долям участия Компании, в размере около 22% от совокупной мировой первичной добычи урана в 2022 году. Группа имеет крупнейшую резервную базу урана в отрасли. Казатомпром вместе с дочерними, зависимыми и совместными организациями ведет разработку 26 месторождений, объединенных в 14 уранодобывающих предприятий. Все уранодобывающие предприятия расположены на территории Республики Казахстан и при добыче урана применяют технологию подземного скважинного выщелачивания, уделяя особое внимание передовым практикам и средствам контроля охраны здоровья, промышленной безопасности и окружающей среды (сертифицированы ISO 45001 и ISO 14001).

Ценные бумаги Казатомпрома размещены на Лондонской фондовой бирже, бирже Astana International Exchange и Казахстанской фондовой бирже. Казатомпром является Национальной атомной компанией Республики Казахстан, основные клиенты группы - это операторы атомных генерирующих мощностей, а основные экспортные рынки для продукции - Китай, Южная и Восточная Азия, Северная Америка и Европа. Группа продает уран и урановую продукцию по долгосрочным и краткосрочным контрактам, в сторону вторых акционеров совместных дочерних предприятий, а также на спотовом рынке непосредственно из своего корпоративного центра в г. Астана, Казахстан, а также через дочернюю торговую компанию в Швейцарии, Trading House KazakAtom (ТНК).

Для получения более подробной информации посетите наш интернет-ресурс: www.kazatomprom.kz

Заявления относительно будущего

Все заявления, кроме заявлений исторического факта, включенные в данное сообщение или документ, являются заявлениями относительно будущего. Заявления относительно будущего отражают текущие ожидания и прогнозы Компании, касающиеся ее финансового состояния, результатов деятельности, планов, целей, будущих результатов и деятельности. Такие заявления могут включать, помимо прочего, заявления, перед которыми, после которых или где используются такие слова как «цель», «считаем», «ожидаем», «намереваемся», «возможно», «предвидим», «оцениваем», «план», «проект», «будет», «может иметь», «вероятно», «должен», «может» и другие слова и термины аналогичного значения или их отрицательные формы.

Такие заявления относительно будущего включают известные и неизвестные риски, неопределенности и другие важные факторы, не зависящие от Компании, которые могут привести к тому, что фактические результаты, показатели или достижения Компании будут существенно отличаться от ожидаемых результатов, показателей или достижений, выраженных или подразумеваемых такими заявлениями относительно будущего. Такие заявления относительно будущего основаны на многочисленных предположениях относительно нынешней и будущей бизнес-стратегии Компании и условий, в которых она будет работать в будущем.

ИНФОРМАЦИЯ В ОТНОШЕНИИ ПРОГНОЗОВ, СОДЕРЖАЩАЯСЯ В НАСТОЯЩЕМ ДОКУМЕНТЕ, ОСНОВЫВАЕТСЯ НА РЯДЕ ПРЕДПОЛОЖЕНИЙ О БУДУЩИХ СОБЫТИЯХ И ПОДВЕРЖЕНА ЗНАЧИТЕЛЬНОЙ ЭКОНОМИЧЕСКОЙ И КОНКУРЕНТНОЙ НЕОПРЕДЕЛЕННОСТИ И ДРУГИМ УСЛОВНОСТЯМ, НИ ОДНА ИЗ КОТОРЫХ НЕ МОЖЕТ БЫТЬ ПРЕДСКАЗАНА С УВЕРЕННОСТЬЮ И НЕКОТОРЫЕ ИЗ КОТОРЫХ НАХОДЯТСЯ ЗА ПРЕДЕЛАМИ КОНТРОЛЯ КОМПАНИИ. НЕ МОЖЕТ БЫТЬ НИКАКИХ ГАРАНТИЙ, ЧТО ПРОГНОЗЫ БУДУТ РЕАЛИЗОВАНЫ, И ФАКТИЧЕСКИЕ РЕЗУЛЬТАТЫ МОГУТ БЫТЬ ВЫШЕ ИЛИ НИЖЕ, ЧЕМ УКАЗАНО. НИКТО ИЗ КОМПАНИИ - НИ ЕЕ АКЦИОНЕРЫ, НИ ДИРЕКТОРА, НИ ДОЛЖНОСТНЫЕ ЛИЦА, НИ СОТРУДНИКИ, НИ КОНСУЛЬТАНТЫ, НИ АФФИЛИРОВАННЫЕ ЛИЦА ИЛИ КАКИЕ-ЛИБО ПРЕДСТАВИТЕЛИ, ИЛИ АФФИЛИРОВАННЫЕ ЛИЦА ПЕРЕЧИСЛЕННЫХ ВЫШЕ - НЕ НЕСУТ ОТВЕТСТВЕННОСТИ ЗА ТОЧНОСТЬ ПРОГНОЗОВ, ПРЕДСТАВЛЕННЫХ В НАСТОЯЩЕМ ДОКУМЕНТЕ.

Информация, содержащаяся в данном сообщении или документе, включая, помимо прочего, заявления относительно будущего, применяется только на дату настоящего документа и не предназначена для предоставления каких-либо гарантий относительно будущих результатов. Компания однозначно отказывается от каких-либо обязательств по распространению обновлений или изменений такой информации, включая финансовые данные или прогнозные заявления, и не будет публично выпускать какие-либо изменения, которые она может внести в информацию, возникающие в результате изменений в ожиданиях Компании, изменений в событиях, условиях или обстоятельствах, на которых основаны такие заявления относительно будущего, или в других событиях или обстоятельствах, возникающих после даты настоящего документа.

Оставить отзыв