Kazatomprom signs Environmental Protection Memorandum of Cooperation with Ministry of Ecology, Geology & Natural Resources of the Republic of Kazakhstan

17 February
Kazatomprom signs Environmental Protection Memorandum of Cooperation with Ministry of Ecology, Geology & Natural Resources of the Republic of Kazakhstan

On 17 February, 2020, JSC National Atomic Company “Kazatomprom” and the Ministry of Ecology, Geology and Natural Resources of the Republic of Kazakhstan signed a Memorandum of Cooperation (“Memorandum”) related to environmental protection.       

 

The signing took place during the XXII corporate meeting of Kazatomprom on issues relating to industrial safety, which was also attended by the heads of Kazatomprom and other Government Agencies, together with representatives of JSC “Samruk-Kazyna” and its portfolio companies. Kazatomprom subsidiaries and affiliates and other business partners were also present.

 

Magzum Mirzagaliyev, the Minister of Ecology, Geology and Natural Resources of the Republic of Kazakhstan said:

“I am pleased to note Kazatomprom is focused on introducing modern technologies in its production process to minimize environmental damage. Within the framework of this memorandum, we also plan to implement a project for the disposal of solid radioactive waste from UMP JSC at the former Semipalatinsk Test Site”. After the launch of the project the plant will cease disposal of solid radioactive waste in the special facilities of the UMP tailing facility, which will minimize the environmental risk of any impact of the waste on in the region.

 

Galymzhan Pirmatov, Chief Executive Officer of Kazatomprom emphasized:

“Industrial safety and environmental protection remain the key core priorities for Kazatomprom. The company will continue to implement measures aimed at improving the culture of industrial safety, and to create an open and honest dialogue with all stakeholders. I am pleased to confirm there were no industrial accidents at any Kazatomprom enterprises in 2019.”

 

The objective of the Memorandum is to improve the overall environmental performance in all regions where Kazatomprom operates and to minimize the impact of the production activities of its subsidiaries and affiliates on the population and the environment.

Leave a feedback

Министерство экологии, геологии и природных ресурсов РК и АО «НАК «Казатомпром» подписали Меморандум о сотрудничестве в области охраны окружающей среды

17 февраля
Министерство экологии, геологии и природных ресурсов РК и АО «НАК «Казатомпром» подписали Меморандум о сотрудничестве в области охраны окружающей среды

17 февраля 2020 года между Министерством экологии, геологии и природных ресурсов РК и АО «НАК «Казатомпром» был подписан Меморандум о сотрудничестве в области охраны окружающей среды.

Подписание состоялось в ходе XXII корпоративного совещания АО "НАК "Казатомпром" по вопросам производственной безопасности, участие в котором приняли руководители Казатомпрома и государственных органов, представители АО «Самрук-Казына» и его портфельных компаний, дочерних и зависимых организаций атомного холдинга, а также компаний-партнеров.

Министр экологии, геологии и природных ресурсов РК Магзум Мирзагалиев отметил: «Отрадно, что компания нацелена на внедрение на производстве современных технологий, позволяющих минимизировать вред окружающей среде. В рамках данного меморандума планируется в том числе реализация проекта по захоронению твердых радиоактивных отходов АО «УМЗ» на территории бывшего Семипалатинского испытательного ядерного полигона». После запуска этого проекта завод прекратит размещение твердых радиоактивных отходов в специальных сооружениях участка хвостового хозяйства «УМЗ», что максимально снизит риск негативного воздействия радиоактивных отходов на окружающую среду и население региона.

Председатель Правления Казатомпрома Галымжан Пирматов подчеркнул: «Производственная безопасность и охрана окружающей среды остается приоритетом №1 для Казатомпрома. Компания продолжит реализацию мероприятий, направленных на совершенствование культуры производственной безопасности, открытый и честный диалог со всеми заинтересованными сторонами. В 2019 году на предприятиях Казатомпрома промышленных аварий не допущено».

Цель Меморандума - улучшить состояние компонентов окружающей среды в регионах присутствия и минимизировать воздействие производственной деятельности дочерних и зависимых организаций Казатомпрома на население и окружающую среду.

Оставить отзыв