| (AIX)    USD 46.4   %0      KZT 20215   %0     

Public hearings on the refinery project

14 February 2023
Public hearings on the refinery project

On February 6, public hearings were held in Ust-Kamenogorsk to assess the environmental impact of the project "Building 600. Reconstruction. Refining production of uranium oxide with a capacity of 6,000 tons of U per year. East Kazakhstan region, Ust-Kamenogorsk, UMP JSC (a subsidiary of NAC Kazatomprom JSC). Northern site".

The hearings were attended by 40 representatives of local government agencies, the public (local residents and community workers), the Ulba Metallurgical Plant, and the media.

          The goal of the project is to create one of the links of the nuclear fuel cycle in Kazakhstan - natural uranium refining, which is a preliminary stage to the creation of the next link - conversion. The project also aims to introduce new advanced technologies for the production of nuclear fuel, taking into account global environmental and energy saving standards, and to improve the environmental situation in the region by eliminating the discharge of liquid radioactive waste and reducing the consumption of hazardous chemicals.

According to the project's environmental impact assessment report, the establishment of the refinery will reduce the generation of liquid and solid radioactive waste, as well as ammonia vapor emissions into the atmosphere.

There were 9 questions and comments from members of the public, which were discussed and agreed upon. The impact of the project on the environment was assessed as permissible.

Leave feedback

| (AIX)    USD 42.17   %0      KZT 18830   %0     

Общественные слушания по проекту аффинажного производства

14 февраля 2023
Общественные слушания по проекту аффинажного производства

6 февраля 2023 года в Усть-Каменогорске прошли общественные слушания по оценке воздействия на окружающую среду проекта «Здание 600. Реконструкция. Аффинажное производство закиси-окиси урана мощностью 6000 тонн U в год. ВКО, г. Усть-Каменогорск, АО «УМЗ» (дочернее предприятие АО «НАК «Казатомпром»). Северная площадка».

Участие приняли 40 представителей местных государственных органов, общественности (местные жители и общественные работники), Ульбинского металлургического завода и СМИ.

Цель проекта - создание на территории Казахстана одного из звеньев ЯТЦ – аффинажа природного урана, что является предварительным этапом к созданию следующего звена – конверсии. Также данный проект нацелен на внедрение новых передовых технологий по производству ядерного топлива с учетом мировых стандартов экологии и энергосбережения и улучшение экологической обстановки региона - за счет исключения сброса жидких радиоактивных отходов и снижения потребления опасных химических веществ.

Согласно отчету оценки воздействия данного проекта на окружающую среду, создание аффинажного производства позволит снизить образование жидких и твердых радиоактивных отходов, а также выбросы паров аммиака в атмосферу.

От представителей общественности поступило 9 вопросов и замечаний, которые по итогам обсуждений были сняты. Воздействие проекта на окружающую среду было оценено как допустимое.

Оставить отзыв