| (AIX)    USD 39.57   %0      KZT 18300   %0     

Government of Kazakhstan and the IAEA signed an agreement on the IAEA LEU Bank establishment

27 August 2015
Government of Kazakhstan and the IAEA signed an agreement on the IAEA LEU Bank establishment

Signing ceremony of the agreement on low-enriched uranium Bank (LEU Bank) establishment in our state between the Government of Kazakhstan and the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) took place in Astana.

On behalf of Kazakhstan the agreement was signed by Erlan Idrissov, Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Kazakhstan, on behalf of the IAEA by Mr. Yukiya Amano, Director General.

Besides, Technical agreement was signed between the Ministry of Energy of the Republic of Kazakhstan and the IAEA on implementation of the consolidated action plan in order to establish the IAEA LEU Bank in Kazakhstan.

Moreover, “ULBA Metallurgical Plant” JSC (Kazatomprom’s subsidiary) and the International Atomic Energy Agency signed Technical agreement on the Facility Operator Services provided in connection with the IAEA LEU Bank in the Republic of Kazakhstan.

The ceremony was attended by the representatives of UN Security Council member-states, among which are Great Britain, Russia, the USA, China and France; as well as representatives from other countries-donors of the project - EU, Norway, UAE and Kuweit.

LEU Bank will grant member-countries a reliable access to nuclear fuel for power plants enabling countries, having no uranium enrichment capacities, to have stable nuclear fuel supply. Also, establishment of LEU Bank will help to reduce the risk of dissemination of sensitive technologies that would lead to an impact on global security.

Leave feedback

Правительство Казахстана и МАГАТЭ подписало соглашение о создании Банка низкообогащенного урана

27 августа 2015
Правительство Казахстана и МАГАТЭ подписало соглашение о создании Банка низкообогащенного урана

В Астане состоялась церемония подписания соглашения о создании Банка низкообогащенного урана (БНОУ) на территории нашей страны между Правительством Республики Казахстана и Международным агентством по атомной энергии (МАГАТЭ).

В подписании соглашения от казахстанской стороны принял участие министр иностранных дел Республики Казахстан Ерлан Идрисов, от имени МАГАТЭ генеральный директор организации Юкия Амано.

Также, подписано Техническое соглашение между Министерством энергетики Республики Казахстан и МАГАТЭ по конкретным мерам, которые должны быть приняты в целях создания БНОУ МАГАТЭ в Республике Казахстан.

Кроме того, между АО «Ульбинский металлургический завод» (дочернее предприятие АО «НАК «Казатомпром») и Международным агентством по атомной энергии подписано Техническое соглашение об услугах Оператора установки, предоставляемых в связи с БНОУ МАГАТЭ в Республике Казахстан.

В церемонии приняли участие представители государств-членов Совета безопасности ООН, среди которых Великобритания, Россия, США, Китай и Франция, кроме того представители стран-доноров проекта - ЕС, Норвегии, ОАЭ и Кувейта.

БНОУ предоставит странам-участницам надежный доступ к топливу для атомных электростанций, что позволит государствам, не обладающим собственным производством по обогащению урана, иметь стабильные поставки ядерного топлива. Помимо этого, создание БНОУ поможет снизить риск распространения секретных технологий, что в целом повлияет на глобальную безопасность.

Оставить отзыв